Dean, Hayward, Tyler nominated for judgeship

Two women and one man have been nominated to serve as Wicomico County’s next Circuit Court judge.

The local Trial Courts Judicial Nominating Commission sent the names of Karen Martin Dean, Kendra Elise Hayward and Mark Andrew Tyler to Maryland Gov. Larry Hogan for his consideration.

The governor will interview the nominees and select a replacement for Judge Leah J. Seaton, who announced her retirement last year.

The applicants pool included Wicomico State’s Attorney Jamie L. Dykes, but her name was not advanced by the commission. The local panel is made up of legal professionals and community leaders.

The applicants for the judicial post also included James Leo Britt, Jenifer Susan Goolie and Andrew Alan Whitehead.

Dean, who lives in Salisbury, currently serves as an Assistant State’s Attorney in Worcester County. Dean has judicial experience, having previously served as a Court Master in Wicomico.

She graduated from University of Delaware in 1996, and earned a law degree from Vermont Law School.

She previously served as Deputy State’s Attorney for Somerset County and Senior Assistant State’s Attorney for Wicomico County.

Hayward lives in Salisbury and currently serves as Deputy State’s Attorney in Somerset County.

She is a 2004 graduate of the University of Baltimore School of Law.

Hayward was an applicant for a state District Court judgeship that was awarded last year to Judge Abigail Marsh.

Tyler has also been among previous applicants for Lower Shore judgeships. He currently works in the Wicomico County Office of Child Support, serving as an enforcement attorney with the Department of Social Services.

As your community newspaper, we are committed to making Salisbury a better place. You can help support our mission by making a voluntary contribution to the newspaper.