Law enforcement class graduates from academy

Twenty-five law enforcement officers from Wicomico, Worcester, Somerset, Dorchester, Talbot, Queen Anne’s and Garrett counties graduated in the 81st entrance-level class of the Eastern Shore Criminal Justice Academy operated by Wor-Wic Community College in Salisbury.

Graduation exercises, which were held in Guerrieri Hall at the college campus, featured a commencement address by Jamie L. Dykes, State’s Attorney for Wicomico County.

John C. Moses, Director of Criminal Justice at Wor-Wic, and Donald L. Rollyson Jr., Assistant Director of the ESCJA, presided at the ceremony.

Awards of certification and excellence were presented by Dr. Kristin L. Mallory, Vice President for Academic Affairs at Wor-Wic.

Deputy Bryant D. Ortiz of the Talbot County Sheriff’s Office was the class speaker. Closing remarks were made by Mallory.

In addition to Ortiz, graduates included Tyler J. Carey and Paul R. Jordan III of the Salisbury University Police Department; Shawn T. Barnes, Robert B. Bingham, Connor R. Canonico and Chase W. Harmon of the Wicomico County Sheriff’s Office; Chad A. Savage of the Ocean Pines Police Department and Christopher C. L. Buhrt of the Worcester County Sheriff’s Office.

Anthony V. Jackson Jr. and Brandon M. Walbert represented the Somerset County Sheriff’s Department; Joseph R. Buglio and Jed E. Wooters of the Cambridge Police Department; Cody J. Bland and Timothy J. Megee of the Easton Police Department; and Tyler J. Argubright, Austin W. Frazier, Matthew C. Johnston, Nicholas M. Means and Benjamin L. Williams of the Queen Anne’s County Sheriff’s Office.

As your community newspaper, we are committed to making Salisbury a better place. You can help support our mission by making a voluntary contribution to the newspaper.
Facebook Comment
WP RSS Plugin on WordPress