Local leaders named to SU President search panel

Maryland university officials have begun the process of selecting a successor for Salisbury University’s Dr. Janet Dudley-Eshbach.

Robert L. Caret, Chancellor of the University System of Maryland, has appointed the search and screening committee for SU’s next president. Dudley-Eshbach announced in September that she will step down on June 30.

The first woman to hold the office, she is the USM’s longest-serving female president and is the second longest-tenured president in Salisbury history.

“Identifying and hiring talented, visionary presidents for USM’s 12 institutions is one of the Board of Regents’ most important responsibilities,” Caret said.  “A successful search depends on the participation of, and feedback from, the entire university community.  I want to thank the faculty, students, staff, alumni and friends from across Salisbury University for agreeing to serve on the search committee.  We all look forward to engaging deeply with colleagues, friends and neighbors in Salisbury as we move forward.”

The chair of the search committee is D’Ana Johnson, a member of the USM Board of Regents, a graduate of Morgan State University and the Georgetown University Law Center and a partner with the firm of Bonner Kiernan Trebach & Crociata. Joining her will be Regent Robert Rauch.  The other members of the committee, which includes representatives from Salisbury faculty, staff, students, and alumni, and from the greater community, are:

William P. Burke

Professor of Practice in Information & Decision Sciences

Director of Economic Development

Salisbury University


James Buss

Dean of Honors College

Associate Professor, History

Salisbury University


Mike Dunn


Greater Salisbury Committee



Julia Glanz

City Administrator for the City of Salisbury



Helena Hill

Assistant Dean of Students for Orientation and Student Conduct

Salisbury University


Brittany Kesteven

Student, Salisbury University

President, Graduate Student Council


Edwin Lashley

Chief of Police

Salisbury University


Arthur Lembo

Professor, Geography and Geosciences

Salisbury University


Deborah A. Mathews

Professor, Social Work

Salisbury University


Robert Moore

Moore Co.

Chair, Salisbury University Foundation.



Sarah Surak

Associate Professor, Political Science; Environmental Studies

Salisbury University


Cearrah Sherman

Student, Salisbury University

President, Student Government Association


Leonard Raley

Vice Chancellor for Advancement

President of the University System of Maryland Foundation

University System of Maryland

On Oct. 19, Caret was in Salisbury to meet with a number of groups across the SU campus, including executive staff and deans; the Faculty Senate and Adjunct Faculty Caucus; student organization leaders and representatives; the SU Foundation and Alumni Boards, Town Gown Council members, SU patrons, local elected officials and the Greater Salisbury Committee; and the Staff Senate and President’s Advisory Team.

In the coming weeks, a larger forum will be held on campus at which the Salisbury University community will have the opportunity to discuss the process with the search committee.

The committee’s work will conclude with its recommendation of finalists for consideration by the chancellor and the Board of Regents. The board will make the final selection. The entire search and selection process typically takes approximately six months.

As your community newspaper, we are committed to making Salisbury a better place. You can help support our mission by making a voluntary contribution to the newspaper.
Facebook Comment