Dale Hawkins secures first Big Block win

Hawkins wins delmar

The final point night of racing at the Delaware International Speedway that lasted into the early morning hours produced some wild and scary action and some new winners on Saturday night. Scoring his first career NAPA Big Block Modified win after many seasons of trying was Dale Hawkins.

Joe Warren would avoid a vicious early race crash in the Super Late Models to post his first career win in the division three tight point battles were settled.

In the 25-lap Big Block main, three cars had a mathematical chance at the championship at the start.

High winds throughout the day had created a hard but smooth and slick track surface for the features which played more to handling than to horsepower. Hawkins started on the pole and quickly settled into a rhythm with Mike White giving chase in second and Scott VanGorder in third.

H.J. Bunting was one of the drivers with a chance at the crown and was quickly up into the fourth spot. His chance would end just before halfway when the rear suspension broke on the car and he pulled to the infield.

Matt Jester was now up to fourth and Beau Wilkins in fifth. The race would play into the hands of Hawkins by staying green from lap two on. Jamie Mills, who started the race second in points was working his way toward the top five with point leader, Jordan Watson in tow.

Hawkins would make few mistakes and take the win with White finishing a season’s best in second.

VanGorder held off the challenges of Matt Jester to finish in third and Mills got by Wilkins to finish in fifth but it was not enough to catch Watson for the championship.

“This has been a long time coming,” said Hawkins in victory lane. “This is a good way to go out. Next year I want to focus my attention on my son Matt who came close to picking up this year.”

Jordn Justice took advantage of his pole starting spot to set the early pace in the 15-lap AC Delco PSC Modified feature.

A pair of cautions in the early going would keep the field tightly bunched. Kevin Sockriter ran in the second spot while Greg Humlhanz got by Chad Clark for third.

Just before the halfway sign Humlhanz squeezed under Sockriter for second. Joe Tracy was able to climb to fourth with four to go but Justice would make no mistakes as he collected his third win of the season.

Humlhanz finished in second earning the division championship and Sockriter ended in third. Fourth went to Scott Hitchens and Clark rounded out the top five. Heats were won by Justice, Brandon Watkins and Dwayne Crockett.

In the 15-lap Mod Lite feature Curt Miles Jr. led the first three laps before Mike Stratton took the point. Aaron VanVorst held the third spot as Ray Gulliver climbed to fourth. At halfway Gulliver got by VanVorst for third and James Hill climbed to fifth.

With Stratton comfortably out front Gulliver took second. With three laps to go, James Hill climbed to third. Two cautions would keep the field tightly bunched but the order of the top three would not change as Stratton picked up the win over Gulliver.

Hill’s third place finish appeared good enough to barely hold on to the point lead for the championship but Hill had switched cars with Tim White after his car developed a vibration in the heat and the car was light at the scale. Instead of losing by three points,  Statton would hold on to his title.

Jason Musser was credited with third with VanVorst fourth and Connecticut invader Ryan Charland rounded out the top five. Heats were won by Ryan Dryden and Stratton.

As your community newspaper, we are committed to making Salisbury a better place. You can help support our mission by making a voluntary contribution to the newspaper.
Facebook Comment