Watson scores third Big Block win


Great Labor Day weather along with the URC Sprint Cars brought out an outstanding crowd for Saturday night’s R.C. Holloway Company/AC Delco Night at the Delaware International Speedway.

In the Big Block Modified feature, Jordan Watson moved a step closer in contention for the track championship by picking up his third win of the season.

In the 25-lap Big Block Modified main, Dave Dissinger was the pace setter from the start with Scott VanGorder and Howard O’Neal chasing in second and third.

Brad Trice was working the bottom groove taking third on lap three with Jordan Watson following into fourth.

The first yellow was out for Beau Wilkins who slowed on the back straight on the restart Trice got by VanGorder for second again bringing Watson in tow.

Two laps later, Matt Hawkins and Jamie Mills made hard contact in the turn with Hawkins grinding to a stop on the front straight with damage to both his front and rear suspension.

On the restart, Watson went to work on Trice for second and took the spot on lap 10. It only took him one more circuit to get under Dissinger and take the lead. Trice held on to the second spot with VanGorder third as Dissinger got shuffled back to fourth.

The battle for the fifth spot was shaping up between Jamie Mills and H.J. Bunting.

While trying to get fifth back, Mills got together with Bunting going into the first turn and spun off the banking. Mills was able to restart at the rear but the car would come to a stop on the next lap with suspension damage ending his night

Watson would have no problems controlling the final nine laps as he drove to his third feature win of the season.

“I have to thank my grandfather for lending me this engine,” said Watson. “it’s allowed me to keep racing and I’ve won twice with it. I hope he doesn’t take it back this week.”

Trice would run a consistent race to finish in second with Bunting picking up two spots in the final five laps to finish in third. Fourth went to VanGorder and O’Neal came back to finish in fifth. Heats were won by VanGorder and Mills.

Kevin Sockriter looked strong at the start of the 15-lap AC Delco PSC Modified feature. Brandon Watkins keep the pressure on from second with Tim Trimble getting by Westley Smith for third.

By lap six Trimble had worked his way into the second spot and was closing on the lead.

Sockriter’s lead was erased on lap nine with Kenneth Peek and Connor King tangled in the first turn.

On the restart Trimble was able to get under Sockriter to take the lead with Watkins and Scott Hitchens following into second and third. The final pair of yellows would fly with five go for a pair or tangles between Chad Clark and Jeremy Harrington and Joseph Tracy and Adam Weber.

Trimble would make no mistakes the remaining distance to record his first win since returning to the division.

Watkins drove a smooth race to finish In second with Hitchens holding off Greg Humlhanz for third. Carson Wright came on strong in the closing laps to finish in fifth. Heats were won by Hitchens and Dwayne Crockett.

A season-high field of 19 Mod Lites were on hand Saturday night. Tim White jumped out to the lead with Jason Musser second.

“Nitro” Nick Sapp held second for a lap before defending champion, Mike Stratton took the spot. The caution filled race would see the field tightly packed for the 15-lap distance.

Sapp got by White for the lead just before the halfway sign with Stratton following into second. White held on in third while James Hill was making a hard charge on the outside in fourth.

Just as it appeared that Hill would lead lap nine he had a tire go down and spun off the top of the fourth turn.

Sapp would not relinquish the lead again and drove to his second win of the season. Stratton would finish a solid second with White third. Ty Short finished in the fourth spot and Ray Gulliver founded out the top five. Heats were won by Hill and Stratton.

As your community newspaper, we are committed to making Salisbury a better place. You can help support our mission by making a voluntary contribution to the newspaper.
Facebook Comment