McHugh, Miller are elected to Pittsville Commissioners

Pittsville residents elected two Town Commissioners in the municipal election on Tuesday, Nov. 5.

Sean McHugh and incumbent Commissioner Bethany Miller received the highest number of votes and won seats on the board in the at-large election.

McHugh received 150 votes and Miller got 143.

McHugh will replace Commissioner Ted Farlow who decided not to run.

Two other candidates were in this year’s race: Jared Schablein who received 80 votes and Ivory Smith with 58.

The other three Town Commissioners – George Whited, Erika Lecates and Roland Adkins – will not face re-election until 2021.

There are 968 registered voters in Pittsville, with 224 casting votes in the election.

McHugh and Miller will take their oaths of office at the next town meeting on Monday, Nov. 18.

As your community newspaper, we are committed to making Salisbury a better place. You can help support our mission by making a voluntary contribution to the newspaper.

You are encouraged to leave relevant comments but engaging in personal attacks, threats, online bullying or commercial spam will not be allowed. All comments should remain within the bounds of fair play and civility. (You can disagree with others courteously, without being disagreeable.) Feel free to express yourself but keep an open mind toward finding value in what others say. To report abuse or spam, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box.

Facebook Comment