Ollinger, Palmer, Fitzgerald named to school board



Gov. Larry Hogan has appointed two new school board members for Wicomico County.

John Palmer and Joseph Ollinger were named to the seven-member panel to fill  seats formerly held by Marvin Blye and Larry Dodd.

Dodd resigned after being elected to the Wicomico County Council. Blye resigned and moved to Alabama.

The two will join Ron Willey, president; Don Fitzgerald, vice president; and members Tyrone Chase, Carolyn Elmore and Kim Hudson.

Terms are staggered, so Ollinger’s term will expire in 2018, and Fitzgerald’s, the following year, said Tracy Sahler, who handles public relations for the school system.

Board of education members may serve two five-year terms.  They are paid $3,700 each year, with the board president being paid an additional $300 annually.

Once members are appointed by the governor, they have 30 days to be sworn in at the Clerk of the Circuit Court’s office. There isn’t a public swearing in, but appointees schedule themselves, take the oath and sign necessary papers, Sahler said.

Wicomico County is one of a handful of counties in Maryland that still has appointed school boards. Maryland has 24 counties and 18 of them have elected school boards. Two have boards with both elected and appointed members.

There has been interest in an elected school board in Wicomico. A bill before the Maryland General Assembly earlier this year failed.


As your community newspaper, we are committed to making Salisbury a better place. You can help support our mission by making a voluntary contribution to the newspaper.
Facebook Comment