Primaries set the stage for November balloting

For Wicomico County voters, the true election excitement won’t come until November, but there were still some key decisions made in the voting booths on Tuesday.

Wicomico County Council District 1

This race featured three Democrats competing for one office.

Incumbent Ernie Davis, with 559 votes or 51.1 percent, turned back a challenge from former Salisbury Councilwoman Shanie Shields and one-time city candidate Marvin Ames.

Shields received 441 votes; Ames received 94.

District 1 is the council’s majority-minority seat, and there are no Republicans on the ballot. The primary win, therefore, guarantees Davis a seat on the next County Council.

Wicomico County School Board

For the first time in county history, voters are directly selecting those citizens who sit on the Wicomico County Board of Education.

The board is set up like the County Council, in terms of member size and jurisdiction. School board races are nonpartisan.

For purposes of the party primaries, a “thinning of the herd” exercise was in place. In two county districts, voters reduced three contenders to two.

In District 1, the school board’s minority-majority district, Allen Brown of Salisbury received 893 votes and Michele Bradley of Hebron received 330. Ruth Angelot of Salisbury trailed with 109 votes.

The results mean that Brown, a former Assistant Superintendent in the county school system, will face Bradley in November.

In District 4, which covers much of Salisbury, Anne Brittingham Suthowski, a retired teacher, led the ballot with 517 votes. David Plotts was second with 418 votes; Seamus Benn was third with 232 votes.

The results mean that Suthowski will face off against Plotts, who works as an accountant for the Community Foundation, in November.

Clerk of the Circuit Court

Two Republicans were competing for one spot in the Wicomico Clerk of Court race: Christopher Welch and Shawn Bradley.

Welch defeated Bradley 2,031 votes (62.6 percent) to 1,214 votes to advance to the November ballot.

Bradley is a past-president of the Wicomico County Republicans Club. Welch has worked in public service as a local police officer and is currently and Assistant Barrack Commander for the Maryland State Police.

Welsh will face Democrat James “Bo” McAllister, currently an Assistant State’s Attorney, in November.

House of Delegates District 37A

Democratic incumbent Sheree Sample Hughes easily withstood a challenge from Hurlock Town Councilman Charles Cephas, winning with 1,660 votes (78 percent) to Cephas’ 467 votes.

The district, which stretches from Salisbury to Easton, is the Lower and Mid-Shore’s majority-minority House of Delegates seat.

Sample Hughes now will face Republican Frank E. Cook of Cambridge in November.

House of Delegates District 37B

Incumbent Republicans Chris Adams of Salisbury and Johnny Mautz of St. Michaels best two other contenders in District 37B, which stretches from Salisbury deep into Talbot County.

Mautz led the four candidates, winning 6,693 votes, with Adams finishing second with 3,948 votes.

Pemberton Coffee House owner Mimi Gedamu of Salisbury received 651 votes, while Keith Graffius of Taylors Island garnered 1,953 votes.

There is only one Democrat on the ballot in general election, Dan O’Hare of Salisbury. In November, the two top finishers out of the three will be the winners.

House of Delegates District 38C

No Democrats filed to run in in District 38C, which extends from east Salisbury east and south across Worcester County. Mary Beth Carozza is giving up the seat to run for state Senate.

Ocean City Councilman Wayne Hartman was the winner with 1,932 votes.

Three other candidates trailed: Joe Schanno of Berlin with 1,538 votes, Ed Tinnus of Whaleyville with 326 votes and Jim Shaffer of Berlin with 129 votes.

The lack of a fall challenger means Hartman will occupy a seat in the General Assembly come January.

Judges of the Orphans Court

Four Democrats were competing for three nomination positions in the race for the panel that supervises the management of estates of people who have died.

Retiring Clerk of Court Mark Bowen, Orphans Court veteran Melissa Pollitt Bright and Dean Jones Evans all advanced, with 2,938 votes, 2,824 votes and 1,956 votes, respectfully.

Peter D. Evans was left on the outside looking in, with 1,611 votes.

Only one Republican is on the November ballot, Grover Green Cantwell Jr. The top three vote-getters in the general election will serve on the court.

Democratic Central Committee

Tuesday’s party committee winners were:

  • Michele Gregory — 2,484.
  • Amanda L. Jackson — 2,445.
  • Crystal Jones — 2,339.
  • Sarah Meyers — 2,365.
  • Gains Hawkins — 2,097.
  • Matthew Davidson — 1,817.
  • Jake Burdett — 1,740.
  • Ivory P. Smith Sr. — 1,458.

Republican Central Committee

Tuesday’s party committee winners were:

  • Wendy Anspacher — 1,453.
  • Muir Boda — 1,534.
  • Shawn A. Bradley — 1,613.
  • Julie D. Brewington — 1,703.
  • Larry W. Dodd — 2,095.
  • David L. Goslee Sr. — 1,784.
  • Linda Raye Luffman — 1,277.
  • Mark G. McIver — 1,318.
  • John Palmer — 1,644.
As your community newspaper, we are committed to making Salisbury a better place. You can help support our mission by making a voluntary contribution to the newspaper.
Facebook Comment