School board applicants to meet with public

The Wicomico County Board of Education’s Nomination Commission will have a public hearing to introduce the applicants for three open seats on the school board at 6:30 p.m. on Monday, June 26, at the James M. Bennett High School Auditorium.

Applicants are Jocelyn Abbott, Dawn E. Becker, Dai’Sha Berry, Allen C. Brown Sr., Mary Lou Coffin, Tyrone Cooper, Michele S. Cropper, Maida Finch, Earle Hatton, Kevin S. Lindsay, William K. Turner, Rick Ward and Talana Watson.

During the hearing, members of the Nomination Commission will introduce the applicants.

There will be time for public comments and expression of concerns, but he applicants will not respond to comments.

No selection decisions will be that evening.

Though Wicomico voters made clear in November that they want the power to directly choose school board members, they’ll have to wait a little longer as a newly selected Nominating Commission will be tasked with filling three open seats by June 30.

The 14-member commission will interview and select candidates, who will ultimately be appointed by the County Council.

In November 2018, the school board will be popularly elected within election districts.

Term limits will prevent Tyrone Chase and Ron Willey from continuing beyond June 30.

The term for Joe Ollinger, the board’s current vice president, will expire next year, but Ollinger will step down early to allow the commission to select three members.



As your community newspaper, we are committed to making Salisbury a better place. You can help support our mission by making a voluntary contribution to the newspaper.
Facebook Comment