Wicomico Libraries director leaving for Carroll County

Wicomico County Public Libraries Executive Director Andrea Berstler will be leaving her position in October to head the library system in Maryland’s Carroll County.

Andrea Berstler

The announcement was made by officials in Carroll County.

In an email circulated to community business leaders, Berstler said her final day in Salisbury will be Oct. 13.

She will begin work in Carroll County on Nov. 12.

“The library will be in transition during this time,” Berstler wrote. “I appreciate your continued support for the work the great staff here are doing on behalf of our community.”

Berstler arrived in Wicomico in January 2012, just as the community was recovering from a tense debate about whether the county should move the main branch out of Downtown Salisbury and build a larger structure off Beaglin Park Drive. She concentrated on improving the Downtown complex, while also improving services at countywide locations in north Salisbury and Pittsville.

“She has a proven record of leadership in public libraries and strong connections in Maryland,” said Lisa Picker of the Carroll County system.  

A Philadelphia-area native, Andrea Berstler has worked in libraries since 1999. She in no way matches the librarian stereotype, and instead presides like an entrepreneur running a startup company. She is filled with ideas about how and why libraries will and must evolve.

She became so rapidly entrenched in the community that the she was named 2015 Rotarian of the Year by the Rotary Club of Wicomico County for her “Service Above Self.”

Berstler holds a Bachelor’s Degree in Elementary Education from Lancaster Bible College and a  Master’s Degree in Library Science from both the University of Maryland and Kutztown University of Pennsylvania. She held positions with the Village Library of Morgantown, Pa., and Chester County Library, Pa., before becoming the Executive Director of Wicomico Public Libraries.

Berstler’s professional connections are envied. She is the Vice President/President-Elect 2018-19 for the Maryland Library Association and serves on the Board of the Association for Rural and Small Libraries.

She is a 2018-19 Leadership Maryland participant. Other awards include: Maryland Library Association President’s Award 2014, Salisbury Area Chamber of Commerce Entrepreneur Spirit Award 2015, and Rotary Club of Wicomico County’s Rotarian of the Year 2015. She is also a former “We Heart Salisbury” Award winner.

This story will be updated.


As your community newspaper, we are committed to making Salisbury a better place. You can help support our mission by making a voluntary contribution to the newspaper.
Facebook Comment