Wicomico school leadership teams taking shape for next school year

Superintendent of Schools Dr. John Fredericksen and Dr. Margo Handy, Assistant Superintendent of Instruction, have announced that administrative leadership teams for Wicomico County Public Schools are taking shape for the 2016-2017 school year.

“We’re confident we’re putting the right teams in place in every building to serve our students and families. We’re pleased that some of our administrators and deans of students will have new opportunities to learn and grow as leaders as they support success for all students,” Dr. Fredericksen said.

Leadership assignments for 2016-2017 have been made in consultation for Superintendent-Elect Dr. Donna C. Hanlin. A handful of vacant administrative leadership positions will be filled in the coming weeks. As of Thursday, May 12, administrative teams for each school and program in Wicomico County Public Schools (effective July 1) are, with changes underlined:


  • Beaver Run Elementary: Principal Curtis W. Twilley, Assistant Principal Kimberly Waters
  • Charles H. Chipman Elementary: Principal Antionette Perry, Assistant Principal Alexan Dargan
  • Delmar Elementary: Principal Judy W. Nicholson, Assistant Principals Ryan Kessler and Michael G. Bievenour
  • East Salisbury Elementary: Principal Glendon A. Jones, Assistant Principal Karen F. Parsons, Dean of Students Timothy Dickson
  • Fruitland Primary: Principal Dave Harris, Assistant Principal Dr. Renee R. Hall
  • Fruitland Intermediate: Principal Jon D. Shearer, Assistant Principal Marie Baker
  • Glen Avenue Elementary: Principal Lillie A. Giddens, Assistant Principal Larry J. Collins
  • North Salisbury Elementary: Principal Ruby L. Brown, Assistant Principal Dr. Kathleen Vail
  • Northwestern Elementary: Principal Kirby S. Bryson, Assistant Principal Joyce D. Lewis
  • Pemberton Elementary: Principal Melissa A. Eiler, Assistant Principal Carla H. Hicks
  • Pinehurst Elementary: Principal Deborah L. Emge, Assistant Principal Kaimais Love, Dean of Students Peggy Troiano
  • Prince Street Elementary: Principal Jason L. Miller, Assistant Principal Tana Ellis, Dean of Students Susan Cullen
  • Westside Primary: Principal Maria Wright, Assistant Principal Shelly Hall
  • Westside Intermediate: Principal Christopher P. Nunzio, Assistant Principal Glenda Sinclair
  • Willards Elementary: Principal Regina J. Rando, Assistant Principal Jennifer Rice
  • Pittsville Elementary and Middle: Principal Michael T. Cody, Assistant Principal Kathy Downes

West Salisbury Elementary will be under construction and off line until approximately June 2018. Teachers and most other staff members will be reassigned to serve the West Salisbury students temporarily being served at either Charles H. Chipman Elementary or North Salisbury Elementary. Principal Melva P. Wright will serve as principal of the Wicomico Early Learning Center for the next two school years, and will then return to West Salisbury as principal to lead its reopening.

Early Childhood Programs

  • Wicomico Early Learning Center (WELC) and Wicomico County Judy Center Partnership: Principal Melva P. Wright, Program Coordinator Trina Tilghman-Dix
  • Infants and Toddlers/Child Find/Birth to Five: Supervisor Patricia A. Adkins

Middle Schools

  • Bennett Middle: Principal Liza W. Hastings, Assistant Principal Lisa King, Assistant Principal vacancy to be filled, Dean of Students Terance Dunn
  • Pittsville Elementary and Middle: Principal Michael T. Cody, Assistant Principal Kathy Downes
  • Salisbury Middle: Principal Kristina V. Gosnell, Assistant Principal Dr. Mark Bowen, Assistant Principal vacancy to be filled, Dean of Students Tikitia Glover
  • Wicomico Middle: Principal Kelley Morris-Springston, Assistant Principals Bobby Purnell and Lillian Blake, Dean of Students Ron Dyda
  • Mardela Middle and High: Principal Amy Eskridge, Assistant Principals Shawn Y. Gardner and Francis M. Grate, Dean of Students Sharon Cooper

High Schools

  • James M. Bennett High: Principal Frederick “Rick” Briggs, Assistant Principals Lisa M. Forbush, Courtney Lewis and David Allen Miles, Dean of Students Erin Raymond. (Principal Steve Grudis and Assistant Principal James Cook are retiring.)
  • Mardela Middle and High: Principal Amy Eskridge, Assistant Principals Shawn Y. Gardner and Francis M. Grate, Dean of Students Sharon Cooper
  • Parkside High: Principal Kimberly D. Pinhey, Assistant Principals Sheree Douglas-Johnson, Tara O’Barsky (CTE) and Brian Briggs, Dean of Students Brad Gibson
  • Wicomico High: Principal Don R. Brady, Assistant Principals Lavion Bratten, Michele McGoogan and Ronald A. Greene, Dean of Students vacancy to be filled
  • Wicomico Evening High School: Coordinator Dave Harner, Deans of Students Amanda Schnarrs and Devin Smith

Secondary Program

  • Choices: Principal Christel C. Savage, Dean of Students Michael Beale

As your community newspaper, we are committed to making Salisbury a better place. You can help support our mission by making a voluntary contribution to the newspaper.

You are encouraged to leave relevant comments but engaging in personal attacks, threats, online bullying or commercial spam will not be allowed. All comments should remain within the bounds of fair play and civility. (You can disagree with others courteously, without being disagreeable.) Feel free to express yourself but keep an open mind toward finding value in what others say. To report abuse or spam, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box.

Facebook Comment